388th Fighter Wing recognizes 2019 ‘Superheroes”

  • Published
  • By U.S. Air Force Photos by Todd Cromar

HILL AIR FORCE BASE, Utah – The 388th Fighter Wing recently name the Airmen who stood out among the units ‘Superheroes.’

“Tonight we’re recognizing some of our best,” said Col. Steven Behmer, 388th Fighter Wing commander. “But, if you look back on everything we’ve accomplished this past year, this room is filled with superheroes.”

The winners were:

Airman of the year – Senior Airman Austin Gobin, 388th Operations Support Squadron

Non-commissioned officer of the year – Tech. Sgt. Catherine Sautter, 388th Aircraft Maintenance Squadron

Senior NCO of the year– Senior Master Sgt. Nicholas Grady, 388th Maintenance Group

Company grade officer of the year – Capt. Kevin Jablonsky, 4th Fighter Squadron

Field grade officer of the year – Maj. Michael Slotten, 421st Fighter Squadron

Category 1 civilian of the year – Heather Jones-Procter, 388th Maintenance Squadron

Category 2 civilian of the year – Benjamin Rector, Utah Test and Training Range

Category 3 civilian of the year – Kristen Hollibaugh, 388th Fighter Wing Advanced Programs Office

First sergeant of the year – Master Sgt. Joshua Haberkorn, 388th Maintenance Squadron

Volunteer of the year – Airman First Class Angelouis Paucar, 388th Maintenance Squadron

Team of the year – Logistics Operations

Squadron of the year – 4th Fighter Squadron

The event has become known as the Air Force’s “least-stuffy” annual awards ceremony. Because food and beverages were donated or provided at a discount by a very supportive community, tickets to the awards were just $10 for junior enlisted or $15 for everyone else. Instead of mess dress, uniform of the day was authorized, and civilians dressed casually. Army rock band "Article 15" performed.